FOOD post

I made a simple dinner the other night that was a huge hit with Mr. Kanagy. 🙂 I was surprised he loved it so much considering how easy it was to make.

Cooking is definitely not my favorite thing in life, but if we must eat, I am happy when I find simple, healthy menus that are also yummy.

The meal:

Applesauce 🙂

Baked salmon patties

Garlic Bread (homemade bread)

String beans with sautéed onions and mushrooms, diced and stewed tomatoes. (Italian flavored and from a can.) I seasoned my concoction with salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, minced garlic, parsley, and Italian seasoned bread crumbs. I think that’s all.

IMG_8948[1]

 The salmon patty recipe I got from a great cook I spent a lot of time around last year. 🙂

1 can salmon                                                   2 T. flour

1 egg                                                                2 T. vinegar

1 med. onion (cut fine)                                    1/4 tsp. salt

4 T. dry parsley (or tsp.)                                  1/8 tsp. pepper

1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce                           1 c. (or more) cracker crumbs

Put salmon in bowl. (Do not drain) Flake with a fork. Add remaining ingredients and mix well. Fry in peanut oil on slow heat. (These are different and good.)

Or my variation of the instructions: I use oatmeal instead of cracker crumbs. After ingredients are mixed, form patties and place on cooking sheet sprayed with vegetable cooking spray. Bake 25 to 30 min. at 350 degrees until browned. (Don’t over bake.)

That’s it!

IMG_8824[1]

Before it’s mashed and mixed with other ingredients. It gets better. 😀

IMG_7110

I usually get Alaskan pink salmon in a can, but I also use mackerel. It’s a little more fishy, but cheaper. The taste difference isn’t too big of a deal, especially with all the other yummy ingredients.

There’s always small fish bones mixed in with the meat, but they are crushed and mixed easily. Fish bones are good for ya. 🙂

I hate frying burgers of any kind. I never had much success with it, and I just hate the big oil mess that needs cleaning up afterwards. I’d much rather use my oven, and there’s less grease involved that way. That is why I changed the instructions. Lazy cook. But healthier. :p

While food is the topic…

IMG_8947[1]

IMG_8946[1]

I made brownies for my neighbor who had a birthday on Wednesday. I got to keep one brownie to split with my hubby and I. 😀 We rarely eat desert, so it was a nice treat.

IMG_8945[1]This was before I did a brilliant move putting candles in still warm brownies. At least I got to take a pic before they started melting. 🙂

Then today my plans got sidetracked when I started deep cleaning our bedroom. And it is now clean.

IMG_8965[1]

©Brenda Kanagy

Leave a Reply

