My fav healthy meals [FOOD post]

I’ve talked about food and recipes on this blog before, so why stop now? Cooking is not my favorite chore in the world, but when I discover simple, healthy recipes that don’t require hours in the kitchen, it can be fun. I’ve said that too. πŸ™‚

Barbecue meatballs, starchy mashed potatoes, and beautiful deserts should be treats. Those are yummy in this house every once in a while, but the rest of the time throughout the week, I try to find easy, light meals to experiment with.

Example:
I used to hate sweet potatoes, but now I am under their spell. πŸ™‚ I started baking them until extremely soft, and we eat them plain. They are healthy and extremely filling. Sometimes I’ll throw together a meat dish and put the potatoes in the oven at the same time. That gives me the chance to leave the kitchen for an hour or two, and I love being able to stay out of the kitchen until last minute. Lazy cook.

Right before the meat and potatoes are done, I throw a vegetable dish together. My favorite is the string green beans with sauteed onions, mushrooms, and stewed tomatoes. I am so glad I made that easy, yummy discovery. (I posted that recipe in a previous post.)

The beans I used for that recipe are canned, not frozen. The canned taste adds so much to the final combination. I think they were a gift from my husbands sister. The beans were left uncut except for the ends, and she sliced the beans in half from top to bottom. That would probably take a lot of time, but they are so yummy. We just finished the last jar the other night. I want to do my own this year hopefully.

Anyways, back to sweet taters.
I am not in favor of sweet potato casserole. The potatoes are already sweet. Adding more sugar makes it as sweet or sweeter than a desert. I made it once, and I hated it after the first few bites. It was good at first, but yeah, too sweet!

I came across a recipe online which introduced me to a whole new world of sweet potato posibilities: pancakes.

Beni Johnson shared the recipe, but I think her daughter Lea had originally posted it. (Not sure who it’s original with.) Lea is a mom of four, and is treating her body right with workouts and clean eating. Beni is a grandma, but her age hasn’t stopped her. Both women inspire others towards fitness and healthy lifestyle. Both women have beast arms. πŸ™‚ To honor God with our physical bodies in the way we care for it is important. Hygiene, fitness, eating. Things I’m learning. Well, I already had the hygiene down hopefully. πŸ˜€

Here is the original recipe for protein pancakes:
1 banana
1/4 cup sweet potato
1 scoop protein powder
1/4 cup ground quinoa
3 egg whites
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 packet stevia
1 teaspoon cinnamon or pumpkin pie seasoning
Cook in small circles. (If you have a strong blender, the sweet potato doesn’t need to be cooked. If you don’t use quinoa, just add 1/4 cup more sweet potato.)

There was also a raspberry syrup or almond butter sauce recipe for a topping, but I just use chopped strawberries/peanut butter.

I didn’t have nearly all the ingredients on hand, but I made the pancakes with what I had. I don’t really measure ingredients anymore. It’s a grand experiment.

Image

This was a falling apart version. πŸ™‚ I’ve gotten better at conquering them. ha.

This pancake batter is different than regular flour pancakes. It’s pretty hard to flip without messing up the round shape, but the taste is the same no matter if it’s scrambled or flat. πŸ™‚ I’m sure if I would have all the ingredients, they would fry differently too. I add a little flour to help it stick together since I don’t have the powders.

Image

It’s light, filling, healthy, and delicious. Nope it’s not the typical high calorie, American meal, but that is just fine. I am hooked.

~
My second healthy recipe using sweet potatoes comes from a Taste of Home cookbook given as a wedding present from my cousin, Dawn.

Savory Root Vegetable Soup
4 bacon strips
2 celery ribs, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
1 medium green pepper, chopped
2 medium leeks (white portion only), chopped
2 cups frozen shredded hash brown potatoes
1 cup cubed, peeled sweet potato
2 medium parsnips, peeled and chopped
2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
2 small turnips, peeled and chopped
3 cans (14-1/2 ounces each) chicken broth
2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
2 teaspoons herbes de Provence
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 teaspoon whit pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1 cup (8 ounces) sour cream
1 cup (4 ounces) shredded Swiss cheese

1. In a Dutch oven, cook bacon over medium heat until crisp. Remove to paper towels; drain, reserve drippings. Crumble bacon and set aside. Saute the celery, onion, and green pepper, and leeks in drippings until tender.
2. Add the hash browns, sweet potato, parsnips, carrots, and turnips; cook and stir over medium heat for 1 minutes.
3. Add the broth, parsley, herbs de Provence, garlic, white pepper, and coriander; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Ladle soup into bowls. Top each serving with sour cream, cheese, and crumbled bacon.

Once again, I didn’t have nearly all the ingredients, but I made a delicious healthy soup with this as my inspiration. Sweet potatoes in soup. Yum.

Image

~Another meal from this week:Image

Image

This, my friends, was amazing. No lie.

Baked sweet potato, baked fish in onions, mushrooms, parsley, ect, and lightly roasted asparagus with kosher salt, pepper, and a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese.

My picky eating brother wasn’t sure about all these dishes, but he ate it. He’s so funny about textures. He like mushrooms out of the can, but he was a little grossed out by the fish baked in the mushrooms and onions. πŸ˜€

My hubby was very pleased with the healthy meal. It was light and amazing! Win!

We are all into fruit smoothies right now too. Apple, banana, and strawberry is the norm. Delicious, and no sugar added.

I sneaked sweet potato, a bit of carrot, and lettuce in a breakfast smoothie to get veggies in one morning, and I didn’t tell the Jared what was in it until he drank it. Little bro reactions are great. It was, “ok,” he said.

(“Good” is his standard description for my health efforts in cooking. It’s not gross or delicious. Just “good.” :D)

Jared (bro) requested a blueberry smoothie, so I took cold yumminess to the hardworking men on a hot afternoon.

Image

Today:

Slept in, got up, ate, washed dishes, watered flowers, mixed bread dough, ate lunch, finished baking bread, took hubby sweet tea, and dropped Jared off to help him clean up….ETC.

Despite my slowness, I feel as if I have beasted this day with housewifely excellence. See below:

Image

haha! Not like tater tots are healthy, but you gotta take a break sometimes. πŸ™‚ Some of those green beans are fresh from our garden.

I did get make a phone call to my Mama with a question about the pie though.

Moms are awesome.

Photo below is the story of my life right. UGH. I hate mosquitoes. I also hate fire ants. My left foot has seven blistering fire ant bites currently. SC please love me, and stop eating me alive. :p

Image

Of course I had to end this beautiful food post with a nasty pic of me eaten by insects. haha.

The end. Happy eating. Treat that body right!

Β©Brenda Kanagy

Leave a Reply

