“You will heal. You will be free!”

Image

(taken in 2011)

What really happens when God extends forgiveness to you?

My take: That sin you fell into yesterday is a thousand years past you already. Better yet, it never happened. It drowned in the ocean of intentional forgetfulness.

You know your sin effects and deeply wounds those close to you, but how much more does it wound God? Yet in an act of divine love, His response at repentance is to grab your sin with his mile long arm and cast it into the past ages, out of sight and memory. Then he gathers you to Himself, His most precious child, and He nurtures you back to health. (Yes, a feminine attribute of God.)

I will heal their waywardness and love them freely, for my anger has turned away from them. Hosea 14:4  (NIV)

This divine forgiveness and nurture enables you to be on your feet the next day, reveling in son-ship and going about your Father’s business once again with pleasure.

We also wound ourselves when we sin, therefore healing needs to take place. This can be a painful process, but it is possible. It is possible because Someone has restored us to Himself.

We could learn from God, you know. 🙂 If we restore people to ourselves in divine love, (the way He has restored us to Him) imagine what they could overcome and what greatness they would walk into.

It is wise to check with Him before writing off someone who has sinned. If you were to peek over Jesus’ shoulder, you would find no trace of that sin, however His notebook pages are covered with the thoughts and songs of a restored son.

We can’t afford to lose the joy of restoration, no matter how many times the process is repeated. Jesus dances every time. “Yes, I paid for that! My sacrifice is setting my son free today.”

I’m asking God for that same joy, that spring in my step, that dance,  and that laughter in my “reactions” to forgiven people who have wounded me. Harboring unforgiveness usually robs me more than it does the offender. Sometimes it even hurts more to walk through the pain of healing and forgiveness than it does to stuff it down and control the effects, but it doesn’t last forever. Pain is an indicator. If God is doing something, the results can only be good!

Yes, letting go hurts excruciatingly, but the fact is, I want to be free more than I want to be in bondage. 

Sometimes my husband takes my face in his hands and says, “You will heal. You will be free!” Who doesn’t need to be told that in a moment of hopelessness?

It’s true. 

Isaiah 58:8 
Then your light will break forth like the dawn, and your healing will quickly appear; then your righteousness will go before you, and the glory of the LORD will be your rear guard. (NIV)

I want joy. I choose it.

If you’re experiencing the pain of unforgiveness, I say to you:

You will heal. You will be free!

Let Him in.

Malachi 4:2 
But for you who revere my name, the sun of righteousness will rise with healing in its rays. And you will go out and frolic like well-fed calves. (NIV)

 

©Brenda Kanagy

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

