Bread and Goliath

I’m telling you, indifference is demonic. It covers hunger with a shroud of passiveness that only the presence of Jesus can remove. Hunger is crucial! Hunger lets us know that we are not satisfied. Without hunger pains to tell us we need food, we’ll starve. This is a pretty good clue that indifference is not our friend. It is a fleshly armor shielding us from the Lover of our souls. Obviously, lovers are not passive. Indifference knows that if we become lovers, he loses.

Feed that hunger!

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.”

“For the bread of God is that which comes down out of heaven, and gives life to the world.” Then they said to Him, “Lord, always give us this bread.” Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst.”

Sometimes I don’t like the bread God feeds me.

Ever live below the revelation of the Lord in your life? Well if you haven’t, I have.

Why would I do that? Because I look at others who are at peace with God. I see them living joyfully living in their current revelation and clean conscience. It works for them. So I settle. Because I want to avoid drama, questions, stares. I’m afraid to be alone.

But you know what? Just because someone else is in current surrender to the revelation of God does not make it ok for me to avoid hearing from God myself. I can’t have my neighbor’s peace.

“Work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.” Philippians 2:12

Once God shows you something, you can’t “un-know” it. Once you experience God, you can’t go on living unaffected. You can pretend nothing happened, but from that moment on, you are accountable to the truth. Living beneath revelation is passive and anti Christ. It is selfish. I know this about you, Lord, but it’s too uncomfortable. I want to be ignorant again.

If God had called us to be comfortable, why would He send a Comforter?

People will be comfortable in a religious system as long as they can do what they want behind its walls. When hunger for a tangible and satisfying reality with Christ overpowers the depravity of a secretly broken record, just say yes to hunger and don’t look back. When you reject a move of the Holy Spirit, you are empowering people to continue living in sin.
“Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit.” John 3:6

Oh, the voices cry out. What are you doing? You stupid overachiever! Go back. Everything is fine.Take your annoying superhuman powers back where you came from. You are a mistake. You are a liar. False prophet. Heretic. 🙂 

The truth still has the power to set me free, if I let it. When it does, it will no longer matter what voices other than God say.

We have a mission to people [because] we have a relationship with Christ. When we think our mission is primarily to people, we will cater to their approval instead of primarily carrying out the will of our Father, whose heart is for people.

I have a responsibility to what I know. I am responsible to God. When I stand before Him, I want to be able to say, “I lived it.”

This message by Havilah Cunnington completely wrecked me this week. Definitely check it out. If you don’t have a membership with Bethel Tv, you will have to pay a few bucks to watch the full sermon, but it is well worth it. I listened to it once by myself, then again with my husband. Lots deep thinking and prayer after that one.

Havilah is definitely a prophet. She lays it down without fluff. She is also very clear and easy to follow.

A few quotes that grabbed me:

“God will always overvalue obedience over experience.”

“Obedience will open doors that experience never will.”

“I’m gonna use your weakness to confound the wise.”

“God will often offend our mind to reveal our heart. He will often offend what we think is valuable and what we think should get His attention.He wants to know if we are serious.”

“Comparison kills obedience.”

You suck at being someone else. Everyone else sucks at being you. Get it straight.

It’s really so simple.

I have looked for big, shiny doors leading to future reality of prophecies spoken over my life, but it doesn’t work that way.

Am I doing what’s in front of me? Am I doing it well? Am I practicing with my sheep? Am I building muscle memory for the Goliath moment when God says, “Game on.” Am I too good for these sheep, because if so, I don’t deserve my Goliath stage.

CONVICTION.

I had to go back to the point where I became passive with my most current revelation…the point where I missed my chance with a sheep. The point where I stopped practicing what I know and started pining for the day when circumstances will be perfect for what I have to offer.

I have something to offer in Him. It is different. It is raw. It is holy. It is irrefutable. Not because I am great. Not because I know it all.

Because He is here.

He is here!

I will learn to say yes faster. I will learn to believe Him through my life, not just my words.

Someday, I’ll kill Goliath, but right now, I’m practicing with sheep. Sheep are important.

Image

-Taken by Heidi Mast Photography

Leave a Reply

