January in the world’s tiniest nutshell

I’m not sure where January went. It felt busy in the moment, but as February took over the show, I looked back wondering what happened.

I spent a lot of January holed up in my house, knee deep in sander’s dust, caulk, and paint drips. Not really, but you get the idea. It’s incredible how long a project can take when tackled solo. It took me an entire week just to paint the walls, (goodbye wallpaper)ย tile, and cabinets in the bathroom. That wasn’t including the prep. The prep took even longer. In the painting process, there are endless touch ups, plus touching up the touch ups. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I can honestly say there were a few tears involved. I love transforming a room, but I dread the process sometimes. Painting is fun for about 15.5 minutes. ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

Now on to the stained tub, the floor, and the counter top. We’ll see how that turns out. These trips to Home Depot get old, despite the fascinating rows of cheery lights and other pricey items displayed. I do hate dumping money into that store. Too bad paint isn’t free.

January was also the month of business endeavors, specifically for my husband. Coffee. For more info, this link will take you to our website. The coffee really is the best.ย The idea of instant coffee might be blasphemous to the coffee lover, but you’ll be pleasantly surprised. The mocha and latte for example are coffee shop material. You even get the foam on top. ๐Ÿ˜‰

My hubby battled acid re-flux for years, and normal coffee would flare up the symptoms. Cleaning up our diets has almost completely cleared up the acid issue, but who wants to miss out an an occasional coffee? ๐Ÿ™‚ He’s never had acid flare ups drinking Organo Gold coffee. In fact, he’s felt increased energy and focus since he started drinking it, due to the ingredient, ganoderma, (organic mushroom) which breaks down the acid and is gentle to the stomach.ย Gandoderma has been known for its healing properties throughout China for centuries.

The lack of caffeine jitters and raise in energy levels is a plus for me. I love a good coffee drink, but with low blood sugar tendencies, I don’t handle caffeine jitters very well at all. I’m the girl who feel sick after two pieces of chocolate on an empty stomach. ๐Ÿ™‚ To be fair OG coffee has some sugar, but as a health conscience eater/drinker, it’s my top choice in coffee, especially compared to other kinds. OG actually has one coffee that contains completely organic ingredients. (I guess it’s not ironic that it’s called the King of Coffee) It is amazing.

The incredible taste, the simplicity, (one packet into my mug of hot water) the health benefits of the ganoderma combined with the absence of caffeine highs and drops are definitely my biggest reasons for loving Organo Gold Coffee.

So that was me giving you straight up angles on this coffee we’re selling. ๐Ÿ™‚

And you know that’s not just a sales pitch because this girl does not get along with salesmen. If I say I love it, I really do. heh.ย If you want to sample it, let us know.

Hubby and I ran off together one night/weekend in January. There was delicious Japanese food one evening.The only negative element of the evening was the obnoxious, old, drunk lady and her partner who hijacked the pleasant dining experience for us and two other young couples at our table. My faith in my generation was restored that night. Listening to the older couple complain and act like children all night was pretty bazaar. The F-bomb was spoken aloud. And here were us and three other couples trying to be all classy. ๐Ÿ˜€ I may have needed husband therapy after that meal. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m usually not so easily perturbed bumping shoulders with negative influences, but for some reason that evening bugged me. I pray God overcomes my lack.

Also, cooking a healthy breakfast in a hotel kitchenette is surprisingly fun. We missed out on a frozen yogurt experience that weekend too. Our favorite shops in two cities are either shutting down or relocating. We compromised with ice cream at a charming creamery, but the after math of churning stomachs and sugar highs was not worth it. Those memories make me smile though.

I almost forgot to mention that the south had a snowstorm!

Image

Ok, it barely covered the ground, but it was white and pretty. I was raised with snow up to my waist in Maryland and Pennsylvania, so the panic over less than an inch of snow was all a little foreign to me. That said, the South is simply not equipped for snow and ice. The North has snow plows, cinders, and the likes. The south does not. I still have to laugh though. The grocery stores were wiped out of water, milk and bread. My brain was thinking, “C’mon we’ll be stuck at home for one day before it all melts. Bread and milk probably won’t save us all from starvation before our next trip for groceries.” ๐Ÿ™‚ The snow is all melted by now. After drippy, rainy weather, today is a beautiful 72 degrees.

January had some brilliant sunsets!

Image

Image

Yesterday was the Superbowl: that fun time of year when families and friends get together to yell at a tv and eat lots of yummy food. ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t watch the game, but I still enjoyed my Sunday afternoon. I had a lot on my mind though.

I posted this status on Facebook: “Today’s a big day in the US. I’m not trying to put you on a guilt trip for your Super Bowl festivities, but I just want to encourage everyone to be aware of more than yourself today. This is the worst day of someone else’s life. Sex trafficking happens every day, but the Super Bowl is commonly known as the largest trafficking event/venue in the United States. That is not ok. These people are real. (Btw, the life expectancy of a young sex slave is believed to be 7 years.) While we sit in warm houses eating food with our family and friends thousands of girls (many underage, even children) are forced to “service” up to 40 men today. Can we not over look this?
Awareness can save lives. If you see something suspicious today, be sure to report it. Be wise. Don’t contribute by adding to the demand for pleasure. Be honorable.
Most importantly, prayer moves mountains. Please pray today. We don’t wrestle with the physical, but in spiritual places. Please MAKE WAR! Intercede for the ones without voices. Thanks, guys. Have a good day…”

I could write a book about a lot of things, and the “traffic culture” would be one of them. Maybe soon.

I almost cut my hair in January, but I postponed that drastic event by switching up the color temporarily. Instead of my natural, ย dark brown hair with red undertones, it’s a lighter, golden brown. This change helped ease the pain of high maintenance, long curly hair. ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

One day last week, hubby and I watched the live worship on Ibetheltv.

This song completely wrecked me. I love it so much.

If you want your idea of God as our Father/ Parent to be challenged, think about this quote for a while.

“When God puts you in time out, He is there in the corner with you.”

That shook up my boat a little, but looking back in my own life, I have found it so true. Redeem my tainted ideas of you, Jesus.

This post is January in the tiniest, tiniest nutshell, but I need to move on with my day.

Happy Monday.

Leave a Reply

