A peak into this life

Feb 14 never really struck a chord in my heart, but since I married a man, I’ve changed quite a bit. πŸ™‚ Of course, every day is a day to love deeply, but holidays are a perfect time to set other things aside and go out of the way to celebrate. It’s a bonus to this everyday love we have access to. At least that’s the way I see it.

This year, we decided to have a romantic dinner at home. It’s inexpensive, comfortable, and very accommodating.

Valentines Day came on the tail end of an ice storm this year. We were without power around 24 hours, but it came back on in time for the 14th. I know others couldn’t say the same. Many were without power for 5 days, and linemen are still out working to repair the damage. I have plenty of photo proof of the storm as well. Definitely an interesting experience. Did I mention the week ended with a 4.1 earthquake? Yeah, it’s been a bizarre week.

Our wifi is working again today; otherwise I wouldn’t be writing this post. I nearly kissed the internet service man when I saw those four lights blinking again. I know, spoiled American. I think the lack of internet bugged me especially much this week because there were a lot of things I needed to get done online, and I dislike wracking up my data usage on my phone without wifi. First world problems. Lame. Oh well, all is well. πŸ™‚

Pretty amazing the things we do that rely on the web. I blog, I shop, I pay bills, I research…I google almost everything. Recipes, interior decor, news, (well not much) DIY projects, dictionary, etc. (Sometimes I search a word meaning in the moments of second guessing my instinct while blogging.)

Google can direct you to a florist, tell you how to change the wax ring under a toilet; it can even tell you if you’re pregnant or not. I do not know this from experience. ha. Google is not the final authority though. A word of advice, if you want to be reassured that you’re healthy, don’t google your physical symptoms. You will believe the end is near in short order. πŸ˜€

This photo I found on Pinterest says it well. πŸ™‚

47150a6748bf6a4541594ba4ca35b34b

This is getting way off track. Back to Valentines day…Let me start off by saying that we consumed way too many chocolate covered strawberries. It was my first attempt making those beautiful little treats, and we loved them.

First, the preparation:

Image

So fun to make, so pretty to look at, and so easy on taste buds. Mh.

I set the table.

Image

I brought out the lace dress from the closet. Sometimes life calls for a celebration.

Image

The jewelry.

Image

I let my hair hang, and put on some makeup.

Image

Image

More often then not, my hair gets pulled back in a pony tail. It’s getting to that long, annoying stage.

Truth be told, this was the first time my nails had been done in six months. Valentines Day calls!

Image

Back to the kitchen to finish dinner.

Then, this man showed up.

Image

With these…

Image

I’ll leave out all the stuff you won’t want to hear. It was the most romantic, relaxed dinner we ever ate at that table.

Image

A photo really doesn’t do justice. It’s all a little homemade, but you can’t capture love in a pixel.

Image

Lemon chicken and shrimp. It was delicious, but the strawberries were my favorite.

Image

Image

Image

Image

After dinner, we collapsed on the couch and laughed at the movie, “Yours, Mine, and Ours.” I had seen it, but the Mr. hadn’t. I was constantly smiling at the resemblances I saw between the star couple and us. Amazing how a wild red head and a ship corporal blended their lives to raise 18 kids. Hilarious. I love that movie. πŸ™‚

The house is back in order, but my bouquet is still on the counter bringing me happiness when I’m sad.

Feb. 16 was nine years since my Dad died. (For those who don’t know, he was hit by a reckless driver on his way home from work that night. He was bringing home steaks to make for his family. He called mom and said, “I’m on my way home.” He really was, I guess. Anyways, that was Feb 16 in the tiniest nutshell a trauma can be put in.)

Let’s just say yesterday was not my most graceful day. If my fits of tears were any indication of mental instability, then I need help. πŸ™‚ Or maybe it’s just grieving. I was sad to be so far away from the rest of my family. (I was also thankful my mom and brother were safe. They were in a car accident Saturday night. Winter is dragging its feet out the door. :/) If we would have been together, I think it would have helped me channel my emotions and memories instead of just having a breakdown of pain and emotions. I know, Feb. 16 is just one day in the big picture, but sometimes that one day can last a long time.

March is coming soon. My whole family in my little house will be a grand and glorious time.

Fly free, Paul. Your little Pauline will too. I know I can be a handful sometimes, but I have a good man that is so good to me. Thanks for giving me this life in the first place.

To Jesus, my friend…thanks for being my valentine long before these human gifts came into my life. Also, thanks, for chocolate and strawberries.

The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness;Β he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.Β Zephaniah 3:17Β 

Image

5 thoughts on “A peak into this life

  1. Your dinner looks delicious and full of love (that’s what matters). And I can’t believe I let the Valentine’s holiday get past me without making some chocolate covered strawberries myself! I even bought a box of strawberries last week at the bulk food store, and thought it was a little random for them to have strawberries this time of year…have to catch it next year I guess!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad I discovered your blog. I’ll be keeping up. πŸ™‚ I keep thinking we need to have the newlyweds from church over and y’all too. That will have to be a spring activity since our house is small. Your strawberries look yummy. We had hotdogs for our romantic valentines. We had a fun evening despite our lack of electricity. What a small world that you and Alicia ^ know each other. Crazy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

