Feb. 2014 Ice Storm

I feel really behind in the “documenting life department.” I haven’t had a lot of free time until now, so I thought I’d take my chance. Today, I’m going back in time to the great southern ice storm of Feb., 2014.

Anyone native to the south knows such conditions are not common, so as you can imagine, when the forecast predicts snow or ice, it’s all a big craze and drama. With good cause, mostly. Schools do tend to close over flurries, and bread, milk, and water are swiped off shelves like the apocalypse has arrived instead of snow. No harm done; it was all just a bizarre shock to this Pennsylvania winter raised girl. 🙂

This ice storm, however, was more severe than I expected. I realized why people go crazy when true winter weather visits. Sunny states lack the experience and resources to deal with the snow and ice that colder states experience annually, so it makes sense in the end.

The wooded areas of SC took a beating. That first white, glossy morning the ice hit, it was beautiful, but soon the sound of cracking trees and limbs falling could be heard continually. Beautiful oaks were demolished, pine branches littered our yard and lined ditches, and even whole trees fell across roads.

When we drove to friends’ house for showers, the road was like an obstacle course to drive on. Thankfully, we never got stuck driving off the road to get around trees too heavy to move by hand. Driving was pretty treacherous without salt to give traction. Slippy.

There was a power loss epidemic. Generators sold out. Linemen worked all hours to clear trees and restore power, but the job was enormous over a widespread area. We were fortunate to only be without power for 24 hours, but many were without for a full week.

It’s crazy how we are so dependent on electricity for nearly everything. Food for starters, heat, showers, toilets, entertainment, etc. Life just seems to go on hold for a while without power. (That is a sermon. :)) I remember struggling to find food for just one day. Amazingly, the full day the electricity was off, the power came back on just long enough for me to fry eggs in the morning before it was gone, and then again to heat leftovers up for lunch. (approximately five minutes) Pretty awesome. 🙂 God is cool that way.

This is now the end of March, but I still see huge trucks carrying off branches. My family was just visiting for the weekend, and they commented on the still visible damage to the trees. I don’t think anyone will soon forget the ice storm of 2014.

Drama aside, the ice was beautiful. I took some photos of the winter wonderland.

Image

Image

Image

 It looks like snow from a distance, but trust me, it was all ice and sleet.

Image

 Plant life was frozen stiff.

Image

 Cold home scene. Thawing the truck.

Image

 Image

 My first and probably my last popsicle opportunity in the deep south. 🙂

Image

 One of many branches threatening to fall completely to the ground.

Image

 Sagging power lines.

Image

Image

Image

 My poor wash line was rather demolished by the storm. It was old and rather dilapidated to start with, but it never bothered me. Hubby was able to temporarily fix half of it so I can keep on using it. 🙂 Yes, hanging out laundry is relaxing to me.

Image

 No clothes were hung out that day. 🙂

Image

 Checking it out.

Image

Image

 I wish had a photo of the two massive brush piles that accumulated from the cleanup of our yard and our neighbor’s yard.

Image

Image

 Beside the road.

Image

 Baby daffodils hanging in there.

Image

 Beauty.

Image

Image

 Spring and winter fighting. This photo makes me smile. Melting ice ran off the roof on the left side.

 Image

Image

 My blue eyed boy.

Image

I survived the ice storm of 2014! 🙂

Peace.

 

Leave a Reply

