Monday Talk: Anniversaries, Granola, and Mouse Wars

Image

Today is my husband and I’s one year and seven month anniversary. Time flies by when you least expect it. When there’s something grand and glorious to look forward to in the future, time seems to stand still, but when you are caught in the “dream come true” best days of your life, time flashes by before you can blink. I’m tempted to strain for he next exciting part of life, but last night, my husband took my face in his hands and said,” Live in the moment.”

Looking to the future with hope and anticipation is good. The future is promised to be extraordinary for God’s kids.

Fear not, little flock; for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom. Luke 12:32

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:11-13

Blessed and holy [is] he that hath part in the first resurrection: on such the second death hath no power, but they shall be priests of God and of Christ, and shall reign with him a thousand years. Revelation 20:6

Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth, as [it is] in heaven. Matthew 6:10

I have every reason to anticipate with hope the faithfulness of God in the future, but I don’t want to be so focused on my next step, that I pass by a gift God has for me in this moment. Because this moment is pretty grand, and I’ll never get it back.

Image

Today is a good day to make granola. I tend to slip into repetitive ruts with all things familiar, easy, and efficient, so every once in a while, I shake myself out of my culinary routine when inspiration [aka craving] hits. 🙂 I have extra motivation to get creative because a few of the nuts I used in previous granola recipe’s bothered my husband’s stomach. I’m thinking of trying something with citrus zest and/or cranberries to switch things up. We’ll see how it turns out.

-The appearance of mice in my cabinets made me realize I may need to invest in containers for my dry pantry foods like oats. It’s pretty discouraging to see a corner of that organic chip bag malled into and paper scraps strewn throughout the cabinet bottoms. Also, seeing poop in my pots and pans is not so pleasant. My husband has declared war.

I don’t know how mice are so smart, but the first three times my husband set traps, the bait was eaten off. Talk about maddening. Especially when I opened the cabinet door and I found the cute, little bastard looking up at me with those little eyes as if he knew he was winning the battle. Die, mouse die!

Sunday evening, we were gone from the house, and I had a feeling a lot would go down in the time we were gone. Sure enough, we got back to find two mice killed in cold blood. The traps are set again, but hopefully they were loners. I’d like to have a clean cabinet. I’m the efficient lazy housekeeper who doesn’t clean her cabinets until all signs of danger are past.

Laundry is drying, and my kitchen awaits. Good afternoon!

2 thoughts on “Monday Talk: Anniversaries, Granola, and Mouse Wars

  1. We had a little mouse war here as well… They took the bait off one time without getting caught and since then we have caught two in two days…. hopefully they travel in pairs?!? 🙂 I was just looking for a yummy granola recipe to make. I eat granola bars like it’s going out of style…

    Like

Leave a Reply

