Embrace the Process

I’ve been having vivid dreams every night for a week or more now. I started asking my man to pray over my dreams at night because a lot of them were filled with accusation and lies and painful scenarios with various people from my past.

There’s always a lot of spiritual action when God is stirring up good things in me. All the embedded junk accumulated in my mind over time comes to the surface, and it seems like things only become more unstable when I let God in my vulnerable place.

God is not the poison simply because there is pain when I let Him in. His stirring wakes my soul out of a comfortable sickness, and suddenly I realize I am not well, and my sickness is toxic.

I will not allow my soul to believe that God is hurting me simply because His presence brings to light poisonous lies and thought patterns. I know that if I don’t let Him start the process, I will go numb to the poison again, and consequently numb to His love.

If your body is poisoned, an antidote may feel like its killing you, but if allowed to work its course, health comes. I would rather have a painful recovery than a numb death.

Sometimes you just have to hang on for the ride because you know in your heart that God is good, and He is doing all things for your good.

“If you are not anchored in the goodness of God, you will lower your theology to match your pain.” Christa Black Gifford

So I choose to get well.

Mind renewal is no breezy process. There are moments of extravagant breakthrough, but in the rest of the 24 hour day when the dust is calm, it is line upon line, precept upon precept.

  • Most battles are won before they are fought. – Sun Tzu

There are only two kingdoms. One steals, kills, and destroys without permission. The other knocks and happens on purpose. My faith unlocks this Kingdom.

If I am not intentionally saturating my soul (mind, will, and emotions) in the nature of God, there is a guarantee that a counterfeit mindset is playing house in my mind.  If lies have residency there, when I am weak, low, or distracted, my thoughts will collapse on the enemy’s sofa.

Having a renewed place in your mind for your thoughts to hang out is vital to being ready for battle moments.

“The more we sweat in peace, the less we bleed in war.” – Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit

Humans are like sheep, lost without direction and easily distracted. We are complex and emotional. 

“I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me.” John 10:14 

Sheep have to be in consistent contact and remembrance of their shepherd’s presence. They are creatures of repetition. The shepherd’s voice creates the filter for all other voices.

This is just how good He is. Soak in the promise.

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
    he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
    for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk
    through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,
    for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
    they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows.
Surely your goodness and love will follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
    forever.

One encounter can change everything and snowball momentum.

photo (7)I will not despise the process.

There is peace in rest. There is peace in war.

Because I know that peace is not absence of turmoil, but the presence of Christ.

Jesus, you are welcome to come in. Teach me to host your Presence on purpose.

Leave a Reply

