RECAP

It seems like forever since I sat down to write. The end of summer found me quite busy, and I always find it harder find inspiration when I’m so distracted with everything going on.

A writer needs alone time, and I haven’t had much of that until now.

I spent the last two weeks of September in Pennsylvania with my family getting ready for my sister’s wedding. I hitched a ride with my brother in-law and nephew who were already making a business trip north. Driving 13 hours in one day is not fun like it used to be, but I had great company.

The week before I left was spent tying up loose ends around the house and cooking up a storm so my husband would be spoiled with my food even while I was gone. I hated to think of his work load doubling.

I was actually kind of impressed with how it turned out. There was chicken frozen in marinade to be grilled, two kinds of soups frozen in jar servings for lunches, three varieties of chicken and mixed veggie combinations for slow cook meals, ect. He was a fan of the cilantro lime chicken.

It’s never easy being apart, but Face-time makes it easier.

I was busy helping my sister and spending time with my family. Of course I couldn’t get enough of my niece and two nephews while I was there under the pretense of helping. ๐Ÿ™‚

My husband drove north to join me the week of the wedding.

When I first arrived, it was warm enough to lay out on my mom’s back deck, but by the time October rolled around, it had gotten colder.ย I came just as the leaves were starting to change color, and I got to witness the gorgeous peak of the season.

The cold, windy weather change was unfortunate with an outdoor ceremony.ย Usually my husband is capable of warming me, but not that day. Nothing could stop my uncontrollable shaking. The man joked that he had to hold me down from bouncing away. ๐Ÿ™‚ I actually fought a sinus cold for a few days after, but thanks to rest and the nastiest garlic tonic, I steadily felt better.

The wedding reception was held under a charming tent, big enough for a crowd to warm themselves. The menu was perfect. Cheddar chowder and taco soups, hot cider, caesar salad, and dinner rolls with pear jam that I helped my mom and sister make. I’m not a big desert fanatic, but everyone else must be, because the pies were devoured readily. Pumpkin, pecan, and apple. There was also ice cream, but I wasn’t about to eat much that wasn’t hot. ๐Ÿ™‚

Weddings are a lot of work, but they are such a wonderful celebration. I’m beginning to understand why it was a tradition to have week long feasts and parties in biblical weddings. Marriage is a huge happiness. Better celebrate the event long and well!

I am so happy for my sister and her groom. They both have strong and beautiful characters, and it makes me so happy to see them happy, even if he is the third of his family to marry my sisters. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love them all.

After spending a few days of rest with my family, the man and I headed to Washington D.C for an early anniversary getaway, but not before we had lunch with one of my girlfriends (the groom’s sister) on our way out of town. We comforted one another in the wedding adjustment, and in general had a good time. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hubs and I spent our first evening in the city making the most of the loveliest hotel I’ve ever stayed at. We made a request for a room with a view, and we got a room on the 29th floor, overlooking the city. It was gorgeous.

We decided to leave all touristing until the next day so we could fully enjoy our money’s worth. This is the only time I could justify thirty dollar valet parking. It always makes me feel a little out of place to be treated with such royalty, but for one day, it’s fun, as long as I loosen up and stop feeling so proper and unworthy. ๐Ÿ™‚

We walked approximately ten miles the next day. We were planning to use the metro to get around, but we just ended up driving between locations. Folks, I love the city. I love the buildings and the history and everything tourists love, but I am so grateful I don’t live there. Traffic is toxic in the afternoon, and it is so overwhelming seeing thousands of faces in a day, yet barely making a connection. I hadn’t been in DC for a few years, but I had forgotten. It made all my husband and I’s trips to Charleston, Columbia, and Charlotte look like a sneeze.

My husband had never been to DC as a tourist before, so I was so excited to share all my favorite sites with him. We loved seeing the Arlington Cemetery, especially the changing of the guards and the tomb of the unknown soldier.

We walked from the Lincoln Memorial to the World War II Memorial, to the Washington Monument and back. Exhaustion much!

Both of us are interested in World War II, and we really enjoyed the Holocaust Museumย even if I had been there before. It is such a tragic, yet beautiful spot of remembrance, healing and education. I recommend it highly!

We weren’t impressed with the American Indian museum, but maybe that’s just us. I remember being incredibly bored the first time I was there a few years ago. I really did try to get something out of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

We didn’t get to see nearly all that I had hoped, but by the next morning, we were ready to head home. Believe it or not, I am still a bit sore from all the walking.

I was so happy to be home after being gone over three weeks.

Something about being in many different homes, sleeping in so many different beds, seeing so many different people, and eating so many different foods makes coming home to my own home with my own husband seem so new, yet so familiar again.

I joke that it kind of takes chemistry to a whole new level being gone for so long and coming home to him again. ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s been taking me a bit to get out of my funk and get back to running my own house again, but I’m adjusting. The first few days, I think I forgot how to feed myself. It didn’t help that the refrigerator was empty. But it’s full again, and all is well.

Over the weekend, I watched Caleb shoot a deer for the first time. It was pretty dark when he shot it, so it was a little disappointing when it turned out to be such a small doe. I’m still thankful for the meat. We cut it up ourselves, and today I had my first tasty serving of cubed venison with a garlic herb combination my sister bought me while I was in PA. Yum.

When an organization spree hits me, I ride the wave because they don’t always stick around long; at least the solutions to carry them out don’t. I spent my Sunday afternoon organizing my messy pantry while my Mr. was out hunting. I made Dollar General a profit when I cleared their shelves of containers for all my flours and other pantry items. I still need to label them all, but it looks and “feels” so much better.

On Monday, I continued with the flow of my inspiration and tore apart my walk in closet to deep clean it. It was long overdue. It wasn’t fun climbing up and down the ladder wiping brown paneling, but I am so thankful now that it’s done. I catch myself standing between the rows of hangers and breathing in the clean scent.

My dear man bought me a brand new Dash blender while I was gone, and I’ve been having fun trying out new recipes. That baby could blend rocks. I haven’t tried it, but it’s a powerful engine.

Last night was a green dinner. I made broccoli soup from the Trim Healthy Mama cookbook, and for desert, kale ice cream in my powerful blender. Don’t judge before you try. My taste tester aka husband nearly lost his brain when he tasted it, and no I don’t mean brain freeze. ๐Ÿ™‚ It was delicious.

Today, my in-laws dropped off two gallons of apple cider while they were passing through. I’m having a glass right now. It is delicious stuff. I find it amazing that God gave us all kinds of natural desserts to enjoy. I’ll pass on the processed stuff. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ah well, this is getting long enough. Maybe one of these days, I’ll get around to sorting through my piles piles of unposted drafts. My husband keeps telling me that my book is already written; it just needs to be organized. Maybe that is true. I’ve written thousands upon thousands of words in my lifetime, and I love to do it. It’s my natural outlet.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

