Zesty Crabby Salad

photo (17)

I call it crabby salad, but there’s no crab. Earlier this year my husband caught a shark on a fishing trip, and I finally got around to making it.

Shark meat is definitely not the healthiest fish, due to the mercury risk, but I assume this recipe would be delicious with tuna, salmon, and other types of fish that contain health boosting nutrition. I’ve made similar recipes with shredded chicken too.

I opted for a salad type dish, full of flavor and spice to cover up the fishy taste. I’m not a die hard fishy person, but I when I do make it, I dress it up good and proper.

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and grease baking dish with butter or olive oil.. Bake thawed shark (or fish of choice) until flaky, along with 1/4 to 1/2 medium onion, chopped. Transfer meat and onion to a medium sized bowl. Shred fish with a fork, then add 1 or 2 stalks diced celery, sea salt and black pepper to taste, juice from 1 small lemon, approx. 2 TBS chipotle hot sauce, and 2 TBS vegenaise. Mix it up!

I am guesstimating on the measurements. Recipes are just skeletons, and I always tweak the seasonings until the taste is perfect. I don’t think I’ve ever followed a recipe exactly when it comes to embellishments. 🙂

The hot sauce, lemon juice, and sea salt are definitely the three flavors that make this salad come alive, so keep that in mind. Over seasoning isn’t a good idea though, so start with less, and build on it until the taste suits your preference.

Serve over spinach or other green combination. Drizzle a little extra lemon juice over the whole thing to top it off. That’s all I need for a dressing, plus the meat mixture itself is coated in enough wet ingredients. It won’t hurt to throw an extra dollop or two of vegenaise on top for all you dressing freaks though.

The vegenaise and hot sauce can be found in the health food section of Krogers in case you were wondering. Both are favorites in this house. A little pricey, but we try to make it last.

photo (19)photo (18)

Enjoy your Thursday!

Leave a Reply

