THIS WEEK

If you are looking for a way to spice up ordinary meals, definitely check out this Stuffed Cabbage Role recipe.

photo 1 (8)photo 2 (8)photo 3 (8)

I used a few TBS of pure maple syrup instead of brown sugar, and I also tweaked the spices to my liking. It was definitely a hit!

In other news, my hubby went running last night. The cooler weather has inspired him again. Depending on his route, I sometimes pick him up. His last run had been short, so I figured if I didn’t pick him up soon, he would pay for it in the morning, even if he was enjoying himself.

When I didn’t get a text, I decided to pick him up anyways. I drove around all his normal routes, but I couldn’t find him. He finally texted me, and at long last and a wrong turn, I found him on a back road, over four miles from home. Apparently, he got carried away and felt good enough to keep pounding the pavement. My husband tends to go all or nothing. He graduated from a 1/2 mile to 4 &1/4 miles in his second run this week. He is a little sore today. 😉

While I was out husband chasing, I did see a glorious sunset over the pond.

photo (20)

I’m feeling pretty boring this week. Inspiration has been low, and I’ve been running on fuel I find in scripture. That sounded much more pious than I meant it, but that’s ok.

Here are a few of my favorites this week.

2 Timothy 1:12 in The Passion Translation
“The confidence of my calling enables me to overcome every difficulty without shame, for I have an intimate revelation of this God. And my faith in him convinces me that he is more than able to keep all that I’ve placed in his hands safe and secure until the fullness of his appearing.”

Psalm 119:11 paraphrase: “God, I have You [Your Word- your nature] hidden in my heart so that I won’t sin against You- so that I may walk in Your ways.”

Fascinating.

This next verse has been running through my mind in relation to honor towards world leaders. If you’ve been around me awhile, you know I don’t take kindly to celebrity bashing- especially from the mouths of those who claim a better way. Public figures face enormous pressure and need our prayers, example, and forgiveness.

For those who struggle learning how to pray according to God’s will, here’s something tangible to pray into:

1 Peter 2:15-17 “For it is God’s will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish people. Live as free people, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil; live as God’s slaves. Show proper respect to everyone, love the family of believers, fear God, honor the emperor.”

Philippians 2:3 “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather in humility value others above yourselves.”

I’ve been enthralled with Proverbs lately. It’s a book chucked full of one liners- some with hidden treasure meanings and others straight forward and face value understanding. There are a few verses that have stuck with me over the years, and I want the wisdom from these “new” ones to change my life as well. Here are a few I’ve been reading:

Proverbs 13:17 “A wicked messenger falls into trouble, but a trustworthy envoy brings healing.”

20 “Walk with the wise and become wise, for a companion of fools suffers harm.”

Proverbs 17:5 “Whoever mocks the poor shows contempt for their Maker; whoever gloats over disaster will not go unpunished.”

10 “A rebuke impresses a discerning person
    more than a hundred lashes a fool.”

19 “Whoever loves a quarrel loves sin;
    whoever builds a high gate invites destruction.”

^I have pondered on that last part all week.

Proverbs 20:4 “Sluggards do not plow in season; so at harvest time they look but find nothing.”

25 “It is a trap to dedicate something rashly
    and only later to consider one’s vows.”

27 “The human spirit is the lamp of the Lord
    that sheds light on one’s inmost being.”

Have a good weekend, folks!

Leave a Reply

