4 STAVES: Holiday Turmoil, Einstein, Holiday Classic, & Holiday Music

STAVE I: Holiday Turmoil

I have a love/hate relationship with December.

PROS:

*Christmas is my favorite holiday.

*Christmas means vacation.

*Christmas means family time. Sleepover at Moms. Games. Togetherness. Laughter.

*Christmas means gifts given and gifts received.

*December is the year of my birth. More presents. 😀 Hey, just being honest!

CONS:

*The celebration of my birth + my favorite holiday are only a week apart. Translation: No more presents the rest of the year.

Ok, I might sound pretty shallow, but it comes up every year, possibly because one of my love languages is gifts. Spending Christmas surrounded my family, friends, nephews, niece, AND my husband is quite possibly the happiest gift of the year. One week to fill my annual love tank is too short. And then it’s over.

I am not a scrooge during the holidays though, so the only choice is to soak it up and live it up. I still have a few more gifts to wrap and cards to write.

On the bright side, I have the best of both worlds. I can not imagine spending a Christmas in the sunny south. Christmas needs to be cold outdoors and snugly indoors. A nice blanket of snow to sled in would be preferable.

Cold temps get old when the slow turns brown and slushy and the roads are covered in salt. I take in the snowy wonderland at Christmas, then go south to wait out the rest of the winter.

STAVE II: Einstein

My husband is letting his facial hair grow in the spirit of winter time. I call him Beardy. I guess we are a hairy pair. My morning hair is pretty outrageously voluminous most days, so he has started calling me Einstein. Should I be offended when my husband texts me photos like this? 🙂

images

 

 

 

 

STAVE III: Holiday Classic

No Christmas season is complete without watching the 1994 Little Women. I guess it’s technically not a Christmas movie, but the first scene starts on Christmas Eve, and for some reason I always associate this classic with the holidays. The actors are all perfect for the characters, and there are countless epic quotes to remember. My husband and I have often quoted little Amy’s, “Blast!” following her reprimand to Jo, “Don’t say ‘blast and wretch!'” Falling in a icy puddle changes your choice of exclamation, I guess.

Another classic Amy quote: Oh, isn’t butter divinity. Oh God, thank you for this breakfast.”

I love the serious and wise Marmee quotes: “If you feel your value lies in being merely decorative, I fear that someday you might find yourself believing that’s all that you really are. Time erodes all such beauty, but what it cannot diminish is the wonderful workings of your mind: Your humor, your kindness, and your moral courage. These are the things I cherish so in you. I so wish I could give my girls a more just world. But I know you’ll make it a better place.”

There are many more, but I’ll let you watch it for yourself.

STAVE IV: Holiday Music

I love me some Christmas music. I enjoy old classics like “White Christmas.” I sang the Bing Crosby version in my head as I wrote it.

I also like newer Christmas music. Pentatonix’s version of “Mary Did You Know” is gorgeous.

My sister bought me Kim Walker’s new album, “When Christmas Comes.”  Beautiful holiday + worship music to fill the chilly corners of my house this season

Lastly, Home Free’s, “Angels We have Heard on High” is absolutely stunning. I play it on our sound system and let the subwoofer give me chills. 🙂 I am not a redneck at all, but these guys can sing like angels. I’m also a fan of their “Ring of Fire” and “All About That Bass” covers, but they are far from Christmas friendly. 😀

May your December be full of love and joy.

P.S. This post was divided by Staves, under the influence of Charles Dickens and his classic, The Christmas Carol. You’re welcome. 😉

Leave a Reply

