Chicken Cobb Salad

IMG_93952

How about starting a new week with a little menu inspiration? Chicken cobb salad loaded with big flavors sounds good to me!

I made this salad for the first time when I was starting to regain my appetite in the second trimester, and it is still my favorite way to get a solid greens and protein combo. It is just so delicious.

The original recipe is from Danielle Walker’s 2013 Against All Grain cookbook. (You should probably pick it up if you want to drool over gorgeous food photography and get recipes for wholesome, delicious meals.)

IMG_93892

Ingredients- toppings listed in the order pictured from L to R:

  • Leafy greens- I used an organic spring mix of lettuce, spinach, arugula, etc.
  • One avocado- cubed
  • Cooked bacon- six slices chopped fine
  • Two marinated/grilled chicken breasts- cubed
  • Four hard boiled eggs- diced
  • One large carrot- shredded
  • One small bell pepper- diced

Danielle’s original recipe called for halved cherry tomatoes and chopped artichoke hearts, but I adapted with the bell peppers and carrots I had on hand. Either combo would make a nutritious colorful salad, but my hubby happens to prefer tomato-less salads. 😉

IMG_94052

Chicken Marinade + Instructions:

  • 2 TBS extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 TBS Dijon mustard
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt.
  • pinch black pepper

How I did it:

Cut breasts into strips, then marinade in a shallow dish for 30 min. or more. Grill over medium/high heat until done a.k.a. until the appropriate, gourmet looking grill marks are are seared onto both sides. :p

Dressing:

I didn’t have the ingredients for the salad dressing that was included in the original recipe, but I made the yummy discovery that the chicken marinade ingredients make a killer, vinaigrette type dressing when diluted with water. (It’s too concentrated otherwise.)

A triple recipe with added water adjusted to my taste preference usually fills this dressing bottle. Tada!

IMG_94222

Happy eating, and have a great week!

 

One thought on “Chicken Cobb Salad

Leave a Reply

