Fresh Mex Lunch Ideas 

My general stress level is decreased by a whole lot when I know in advance what I’m making for a meal. There are days I put in extra time for an special dish depending on my creativity level or when I’m tired of thrown together lunches. Most of the time though, lunch is just that: thrown together.

As long as there’s a primary protein, veggie, and often a carb like brown rice or quinoa (pronounced “kēn-wä” FYI) I’m happy. Sometimes I get really repetitious and boring though. How many different ways can chicken be prepared before it gets absolutely old?

When I’m lacking creativity, I’ve found falling back on staple Mexican main dishes is a good way to keep normal ingredients from being boring. Take Chipotle restaurant for example. There are a lot of solid ingredients and healthy toppings to choose from, and the combinations are endless. It’s never Plain Jane flavor because it’s never the same twice.

If all creativity has left me, I fry cubed chicken breast in olive oil, sea salt, and Mexican style seasonings. A few of my options are black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, chili powder, and a favorite that goes on anything: adobe seasoning.

I’ll often cook 20 min rice with sea salt and herbs. Parsley, basil, or cilantro for the mex flavor. Fresh is best, but it doesn’t always happen.

Black beans get cooked with sea salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder, and most importantly cumin. Sometimes I mash them for re-fried beans, and sometimes I leave them whole.

If I happen to have a ripe plantain, those slices get fried in olive oil and sprinkled generously with sea salt.

To be authentic, I could saute peppers and onions in a fajita season mix, but I’m usually too lazy to go ALL out. 🙂

Hot dishes taken care of, I usually get out a lettuce/ greens mix of some sort for a veggie serving.

A foodie page on instagram inspired me to make tacos so for this particular meal in the photos, I made this faithful paleo tortilla recipe. Seriously, it’s ridiculously easy and healthy. I use it for breakfast burritos too.

Also, I usually base my decision of a Mexican lunch on whether there’s a ripe avocado (or two) in the house. Guacamole takes fresh Mex dishes to a whole other level that just wouldn’t be the same without it. I can’t really offer you solid measurements, but my general process involves a mashed avocado or two mixed with sea salt, black pepper, fresh squeezed lemon juice to taste, and a few teaspoons of water to get it the right consistency. Simple and amazing.

Once all the ingredients are ready and set out, I let my husband craft whatever combination he wants, along with toppings, and I do the same. The photos in this post are the same lunch ingredients put together different ways.

  • 2 tortillas
  • chicken
  • black beans
  • lettuce
  • sliced cherry tomatoes (for me)
  • guacamole
  • Greek yogurt to sub for sour cream I didn’t have
  • chipotle hot sauce

As you can see, I went too small with the tortilla. 🙂 After we ate our taco/burritos, we finished the rest of the ingredients salad style, which is what you saw in the first photo.

May you always have the inspiration to make nutritious and delicious food. Don’t we all need it? 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

