CHAPATI for soup dipping

  
My creativity and ambition have been running low in my kitchen lately, but let’s get real, washing dishes with a watermelon mound pushing you a foot back from the sink + extra weight/sore feet tend take the fun out of food prep. #pregnancyproblems

I’ve been experimenting with spelt flower lately. I tried it in sweetened baked things originally, but I’m starting to prefer it savory. I found a recipe for a spelt Indian flatbread online, and I just had to try it. It looked perfect for dipping in soup, and let me tell you, it is!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups spelt flour or whole-wheat flour, plus more for rolling
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon water, plus more as needed

Prep:

  1. Combine flour and salt in a large bowl. Add 1 tablespoon oil and mix with your fingers until crumbly. Slowly add water and mix until the dough just comes together. If the dough doesn’t come together easily, mix in up to 2 tablespoons more water. Knead on a lightly floured surface until the dough is smooth and no longer sticks to your fingers, about 2 minutes. Cover with a damp cloth; let rest for at least 15 and up to 30 minutes.
  2. Divide the dough into 8 balls and cover with a damp cloth. Lightly flour a rolling pin and a clean work surface. Flatten 1 dough ball and roll it out, picking it up and rotating it to make sure it isn’t sticking, until very thin and about 5 inches in diameter. Transfer to a lightly floured baking sheet and loosely cover with plastic wrap or a towel. Repeat with the remaining dough, spacing the breads on baking sheets so they don’t touch.
  3. Heat a large cast-iron skillet, heavy skillet or griddle over medium-high heat. Add one bread and cook until small bubbles appear, 30 seconds to 1 minute. Flip, then brush the top side with a little of the remaining oil and cook until lightly puffed, 30 seconds to 1 minute more. Transfer to a plate and cover with foil to keep warm. Repeat with the remaining breads, stacking and covering them as you go to keep them warm and pliable.

My notes: I fried them all up at once on my electric pancake griddle to save time. I oiled both sides to fry them, and sprinkled the finished product with a little sea salt. 

I wanted to make up a big batch of soup for leftovers, so I turned to Chana Dahl beans in my pantry to stay with the Indian theme. Of course, I don’t have all the foreign spices that an Indian curry or soup calls for, but I just experiment with what I have until it’s delicious. Today, I added ground beef for extra protein. 

The chapatis were lovely dipped in hot soup. Try it!

Fun tip: if you have a hard time getting raw leafy greens in your diet, chop up kale or spinach and add it to your soups. I do it with pretty much every soup I make, and it is quite masked by other ingredients, herbs, and spices. Nutrition win!

Leave a Reply

