Jehovah Rapha

202a88ede9ad060dd4f0de6f0f903333

WEEK 4:

There are countless names describing the nature of God. The Hebrew words are probably my favorites. There is something so reassuring about hearing the rolling sound of the original language, not to mention soaking in the freedom the truth brings.

Hebrew word for the week: RAPHA

Translation:

  • To heal
  • To restore
  • To make healthful

Jehovah is the name for The Lord or “The Existing One.” When combined, you get Jehovah Rapha, which translates as, “The Lord who heals.”

I don’t know about you, but when life gets a little crazy, there’s not much that can help me other than meditating simply on who God is. I think it’s because God does not simply contain good attributes; the nature of the goodness we seek is He himself. He is the origin, the epitome of the joy and the peace we are made for.

Just this morning, negative circumstances kept pressing in on my mind, wearing away at my hope. I couldn’t take the feeling of struggling to keep my head above water any longer, so I burst out in a self talk session with my soul so emphatically that even my husband stopped to stare.

It’s a lie that I am sinking! I am not made to just barely survive. If someone would die, all this little stuff wouldn’t matter. We are blessed. There is always hope. We are overcomers. God does not forsake us! 

I don’t remember what all I said, but the list could go on and on. It felt like a load of bricks fell off of my chest. What made the difference? My circumstances didn’t change in that instant, and I know God’s heart for me was the same all along. Clearly, it was my posture that changed.

The thing is, there will always be something that could cause stress or anxiety. There will always be obstacles and impossibilities and curve balls and mistakes and disappointments in this invention called time.

More importantly, there will always be an eternal God who never changes, whose mercies are new every morning, and who can align the humanness of my heart and circumstances with His pinkie while His eyes are closed.

I can either choose to have short term vision and be sad or I can see through the eyes of eternity and get an automatic win in Heaven.

Today, I choose rest. He is Jehovah Rapha- the One who brings health to my bones and my spirit.

How has God been Jehovah Rapha in your life?

So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you. 1 Peter 5:6-7 MSG

Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Isaiah 40:18-29

© Brenda Kanagy

Leave a Reply

