One Dish Meals: THM Pea Salad + Chicken

IMG_3683

This week, I’m trying to knock some domestic projects off my list, so I actually sat down and created a loose menu plan to eliminate last minute meal planning freak outs and free up my time for my to do list.

Sometimes I like to go all out and experiment with different dishes that compliment each other, but on any given weekday, I want a menu that takes as little time as possible, especially when I have other things I want to focus on. Cooking from scratch already takes quite a bit of time, so I’m always looking for ideas to get faster at meal prep without sacrificing health and flavor.

Hello, one dish meals! They have saved me so much time and stress, I have no idea why I haven’t done it more in the past.

The other day I had the idea to add protein to the Trim Healthy Mama pea salad recipe for a one dish lunch. It turned out delicious, and it was so low maintenance. It was beyond fabulous to throw thawed chicken in the oven to bake while I worked in the other room. I always struggle knowing how to make bland, white chicken breast good as a single dish, but mixing it with other flavors and ingredients saves my white meat repulsion. (Thanks, pregnancy.)

It might not look that great, but it is yummy and filling.

Ingredients:

  • Cooked peas
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • Mayo- a few TBS (I use non-gmo vegenaise from Kroger because I’m a health nut. Pricier, but worth it in my opinion)
  • Cooked, shredded chicken breast
  • Salt + pepper

Unfortunately, I can’t offer exact measurements on the peas and chicken, but it’s pretty easy to wing it without messing it up. Just adjust protein and veggie quantities according to how many people you are serving.

Instructions:

Bake chicken breasts on a greased baking dish until done. (350- 400 degrees F depending how fast you want it to be ready) Chop finely. Cook peas on stove top. Dice onion. Combine prepared chicken, onion, and peas in a large bowl. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Add a few TBS mayo (enough to coat ingredients) and mix it all up. Serve immediately. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

