Jehovah NISSI

Week 5

Banners

The Hebrew word highlighted in my heart this week is again combined with Jehovah to display another aspect of God.

Jehovah NISSI: The Lord is my Banner

“The Lord is a man of war.” (Exodus 15:3).

It is mentioned in Exodus in the context of a popular battle, following the Israelite’s departure from Egypt and during their wandering in the wilderness. When the enemy came against them, Joshua was commissioned to lead the men into battle while Moses positioned himself on a hill to pray. The Israelites were victorious as long as Moses’ hands were lifted. When his arms got tired, Arron and Hur set Moses on a rock and held up his hands until the battle was won.

Following the victory, Moses built an altar in honor of God whom he called Jehovah Nissi: our banner/ our victory.

God is our Comforter, Our healer, and other attributes of gentle nature, but He is also the Lion of the Tribe of Judah, a God of jealousy over His kids. There could be no better defender than a father.

“By Thee I have run through a troop; and by my God have I leaped over a wall” (Psalm 18:29)

“The Lord is my rock and my fortress, my deliverer, my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation and my high tower” (Psalm 18:2).

Whatever you’re facing today, take comfort in the fact that God has taken captivity captive. (Psalms) How will you let Him be your banner/victory today?

© Brenda Kanagy

(I do not own the photo in this post.)

Leave a Reply

