Pregnancy Notes: 8 months

IMG_3944

Why can’t it be coffee that tones and preps the uterus for labor? At the very least, why can’t red raspberry tea at least taste like coffee?

These are the deep questions pregnant minds must ask themselves.

I’m sure you all could do without hearing about fluctuating pregnancy hormones, but this adventure is my life right now, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

There are moments where I think, “Oh my gosh, this sucks.” Particularly, at night when I wake up moaning over a leg cramp from Hades or when I heft the giant watermelon belly from side to side trying to get comfortable or when I kick away the covers hoping restless legs go with them.

I have decided that insomnia is possibly the cruelest trick in the hormonal playbook. Sleep and I are best friends, and it has been very difficult to gradually sacrifice her for the sake of baby growing. Before pregnancy, it was considered a bad night if I woke up once before my alarm. (I will probably choke on my coffee if I reread that after getting up multiple times with a newborn.) Now, it’s a good night if I wake up feeling semi rested.

I never thought I would be the person who goes to bed at 9:30, is still painfully wide awake at 1 o’clock, and wakes her husband up crying because she just can’t take it any more. In between that time, I used the restroom at least five or six times. By 1 a.m. I was nauseous from hunger. Toast with apple butter to the rescue + a kind husband who stayed up until after 2 a.m. trying to get me relaxed enough for sleep.Thankfully, that only happened once so far.

It all sounds pretty awful, but let me humor myself. I can not complain. I would any day rather have these third trimester glitches than go through morning sickness again. Most of the time, I’m pretty sure I couldn’t enjoy it more.

Baby growing is such an incredible miracle and privilege. I take the responsibility of caring for this body (God’s temple) even more seriously knowing I’m not the only one who is affected by my choices. Ok, but I still drink coffee a few times a week. 🙂

I feel great during the day, most of which I attribute to being active and staying hydrated. I’ve been amazed at how well I feel in the second and third trimester- better than pre-pregnancy in some ways. Baby growing gave me the extra motivation to be proactive with my lifestyle, I guess. I’m noticing fewer headaches and scoliosis related back pain as my pregnancy progresses. Sure, my hip gives out sometimes, and my lower back gets sore, but pregnancy friendly exercises (squats, lunches, etc) and regular walks help so much with that.

Over Memorial Day weekend, I did a lot of hiking and biking with my family. I felt the extra strain of pregnancy, but I’m still happy with how strong I am at this stage. Now I can say that I biked 17 miles at 8 months pregnant. The trail was all either flat or downhill, but it was still an intense workout. I loved it so much.

Let’s talk about what a great daddy this baby has. I can be all strong and invincible, but I’m so thankful for a man that often knows me better than I know myself. He keeps me on track and has a firm yet gentle way a way of taking care of me when I overdo it. I love how this photo sums it all up. It was a voluntary massage for my exhausted post 17 mile bike ride feet.

IMG_3940

There are plenty of Braxton Hicks contractions to go around. My husband gets a little nervous when I say that word so early in my third trimester, so he gave the practice ones a milder name. We’ll save the word contraction for actual labor I guess. 😀

I had my 32 week appointment with my midwife yesterday, and things look good. Baby’s heartbeat was strong and easy to find. She is positioned head down as far as we can tell, which is preferable, of course!

Movement is great. I have an app for kick counting that is very convenient. Very 21st century of me, I know. Depending on the time of day, I can count 10 movements in anywhere from 10 to 20 minutes. All very good!

I was shocked to find out that my belly measurements have actually been a little on the small side for the amount of weeks I am. My midwife isn’t too concerned about it because I’m not putting on visible fat or fluid even though my weight gain has been steadily climbing- with good diet and activity. Baby is obviously growing!

Baby is also sitting low, and as she grows even more, my belly will have to expand upwards, adding inches. My belly seems huge to me, but I think it has a lot to do with the way I’m carrying as a shortie. 🙂 It seems bigger in proportion to my height.

With 8 weeks still to go, sometimes I’m afraid I’ve already gained too much. I don’t dwell on it though because I know that my dissatisfaction is with the number on the scale, not the way I feel or look. If baby is healthy and I feel and look healthy, we’ll just leave the weight gain for my midwife’s records.

My third trimester to do list looms annoyingly at times. It’s not actually that big; it’s just the thing of wanting it all done NOW- a nesting symptom probably. Things like deciding on a pediatrician, making the last payments for our midwife, finishing up my late spring cleaning/organizing, buying birth supplies, last minute baby items, etc.

This baby still doesn’t have an official name. Sometimes I think baby will pop out, and we still won’t have made a decision. It’s not that we are lacking in options. We have a list of favorites, but there are so many angles and pros and cons to name lengths, meanings, nicknames, and more.

A few weeks ago, a stranger told us, “You’ll know when she’s born.” Hopefully, that was a prophetic word!

Ok, that’s it. Have a wonderful Thursday!

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy Notes: 8 months

  1. I grin at this only because I remember ALL TOO WELL those sleepless nights and restless syndrome and awful leg cramps!!! Honestly the best thing to do (IMHO) on insomniac nights is to just get up and watch a show/movie or read something until you feel awfully sleepy…although sometimes even then it’s still hard to get sleep! I had so many nights towards the end that I would be up bouncing on my exercise ball + watching a cooking show + snacking until one or two pm…but it beat laying in bed just getting frustrated and annoyed! 😉 I hope all these less-than-fun parts of pregnancy get better for you, but take heart…your sweet little girl will be here soon and you will forget all about them!

    Like

    • That an amusing pregnancy mental picture. 🙂 That’s not the first time I’ve heard it helps to get up. I’ve just never done it yet because I so desperately want to be sleeping so I’m not tired the next day, and I’m afraid getting up will keep me awake even longer! Ha. I might have to try it if it happens again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

