“What do you do all day?”

A_frustrated_housewife_with_a_mop_and_bucket_and_a_vacuum_cleaner_110116-183830-142009

So…what do you do all day?” As a currently unemployed female,  I used to feel attacked by that question as if it were implying laziness. Now I realize or choose to assume that it’s simply a conversation starter.

Now, working and non working women and/or moms can both be fantastic, but there does seem to be a common misconception that an unemployed woman must be lazy. She may not spend her day doing one task for a paycheck, but she does a million small and big things a day (and night) without a salary. Of course, I can’t speak for the humans who actually are lazy. 😀

Here is a recap of my full day doing nothing at eight months pregnant:

  • 8 a.m.

Day started. Leftover spelt pancake for breakfast # 1. Sorted and started big loads of laundry accumulated after three sets of guests in one week. Removed the two quarts of yogurt from its overnight oven ferment. Set one quart in fridge to drain whey for greek yogurt. Fired up the push mower to cut grass around the laundry line.

  • 9 a.m.

Hung out first load of laundry and started second. Gathered two eggs. Ate my second breakfast and made extra. Drove to the shop to feed husband second breakfast and have our daily break time ritual together, complete with talk and kisses. 🙂 Back at the house, got chicken thawed and in the oven to bake while I went back to push mowing. After two+ miles of walking, 1/2 of the yard was done by:

  • 11:30

Tired and sweat drenched. No more miles behind the mower until tomorrow! Got second load of laundry hung out. Started third. Finished lunch prep. It was flat bread ranch pizza with shredded chicken + other toppings. Yum. Husband came home for lunch. Ate together, complete with the finished Greek yogurt for dessert. (a whole pint devoured. It was so creamy!)

  • 1:30

Cleaned up the kitchen and washed massive stack of dishes. Rested for an hour or so and counted baby kicks. Put last two loads of laundry in the dryer. Picked zuchini and cucumber from the garden and let the chickens out while I took laundry off the line. Gave chickens fresh water. Took massive dry laundry pile inside around a giant belly. Got out hamburger to thaw for dinner. Gathered last 4 eggs of the day. I think all six hens are laying now! Sweet potatoes in oven for dinner.

  • 4:00 pm

Shredded 4 cups zucchini by hand to use up in bread. Checked on chickens. Chased out of garden twice with water hose. Finished prepping bread ingredients and put in oven with potatoes. Chased chickens out of garden final time then herded back into the pen. Started frying meat. Boiled water to brew red raspberry tea. (Must be more faithful instead of drinking coffee.) Started folding massive laundry pile. Meat is done. Timer for bread goes off. Finished red raspberry tea. Finished dinner ingredients and assembled dinner plates. Ate my food and took a plate to husband who worked late.

  • 6 pm.

Back at the house. Fed chicken scraps. Cleaned up kitchen. Finished folding laundry. Showered.

  • 7 p.m.

Sat down to rest my tired feet and write this blog post until husband is home from work. Then a little quality time and relaxing followed by bedtime.

(Not included, hydration followed by uncountable number of pee breaks.)

The end.

How’s that for staying at home? Now I’m not always that ambitious, but that was today. Lest anyone should think I am accomplished, today I was that person who threw the freshly washed sheets on the guest room bed because I was too tired and unmotivated to fold another fitted sheet. Here is my point:

There are only 24 hours in a day. Obviously, one woman can’t do everything under the sun that women all over the planet are doing, so she has to pick her battles and divide her time between them in order of importance. For example, over the last two years, I have immersed myself pretty heavily in learning about healthy lifestyle- food specifically. Right now, that also heavily includes (no pun intended) baby growing.

On any given day, I make three meals a day from scratch + snacks and baked goods a few times a week. I make my own laundry detergent, line dry my laundry when the sun shines, and invest hours in growing my writing experience. Our house doesn’t need two incomes at the moment so I am able to invest those hours into what I value in this season. The next person might not be able to do the same things I do, but life looks different for everyone, and that’s ok. No judgment necessary!

I haven’t put the folded towels away yet, but I am exhausted after today even if I tackled it on a full night of sleep. (Well, I did get up to check my fermenting yogurt at 3 a.m) I am exhausted, and I didn’t even have a toddler undoing my work or whining at nap time. I didn’t have to multitask poopy diapers and spit up or homeschooling with lunch prep or egg gathering or laundry. So here’s to unemployed moms everywhere who far surpass my domestic multitasking skills.

In the Veggie Tales theme- my parody of The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything:

“We are the mommies who don’t do anything. We just stay at home and lie around. And if you ask us to do anything, we’ll just tell you…we don’t do anything.”

😀 Posted in fun.

Peace to all.

© Brenda Kanagy

Leave a Reply

