Weekend 

  

It turned out to be a pretty long week of rest and relaxation leading up to the weekend after my husband’s back went out at work. Two chiropractic adjustments and lots of prayers later, it still took the rest of the week for the swelling to go down enough to bend and sit without pain.

It was inconvenient and hard for him to take off work, but with the ridiculous heat wave it may have been a good thing. Ever since he had a pretty bad overheating episode when he worked a landscaping job several years ago, intense heat wrecks his body. Things like dizziness, blurred vision, tingling gums, and difficulty breathing to the verge of panic- especially going in and out of the heat. Pretty scary. Now that he’s back to work, he gets up around 3-4 in the morning to get working hours in before lunch time. After three summers to adapt, I still can’t say we are fans of southern heat. 🙂

The heat is truly insane even without sensitivity to it. Our car thermometer read 117 last week. It sure felt like it. I don’t go outside for more than 15 minutes at a time after it heats up. The humidity clings like a blanket, and one can forget staying dry and nice smelling. 🙂 Our electric bill is nearly doubled this month, but I’m not upset. I will not spend my last month pregnant with unbearable heat in my own house!

This weekend we celebrated my husband’s birthday. There was a pancake breakfast in bed, opening his gift, kale salad for lunch (not because I’m mean, but because that’s what he wanted) swimming in the 100 degree afternoon heat, and a sushi feast extravaganza in the evening.

On Sunday, we drug out the festivities with his favorite fruit salad and chocolate cake with cream cheese icing for dessert.

My husband isn’t as intense about gifts as I am (his happiness might come from watching my excitement of gift giving. :p ) but I know he likes being surprised when I do it. I got him a new sure fire flashlight (he lost his first one) and his own shofar. Both are significant for specific reasons, and I love that he randomly walks around the house testing both. Blowing the shofar took a while to get the hang of, but I can’t help smiling when I suddenly hear a shofar go off in the next room. I love that man so much it hurts sometimes.

 Only four short weeks until the best gift of his life is estimated to come.

Leave a Reply

