EL ROI: The God Who Sees

Week 9:

eye-earth

Thereafter, Hagar used another name to refer to the LORD, who had spoken to her. She said, “You are the God who sees me.” She also said, “Have I truly seen the One who sees me?” Genesis 16:13

El Roi: The God Who sees me

After adapting and doing the best I can with scary, new, impending due date quirks like swollen feet and high numbers on the scale and maybe even a few new stretch marks, (Don’t laugh; the trauma is real.) realizing how much I love this baby already and how much I want to love her well after I meet her is the most reassuring thing at 11:19 at night. A “quiet belly” day followed by hard rolls and kicks at night is a happy thing.

Maybe that’s how God feels about me sometimes when I’m flighty or missing in action. How he loves when I come around, even if it means I kick up against Him in my baby state. He’s just so happy I’m His little one.

However small my little worries and transitions are, I know I’m bigger than the sparrow he can not overlook. He sees me! He’s the Daddy who is wise and kind and beautiful to belong to.

We wait in hope for the Lord; he is our help and our shield. In him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in his holy name. May your unfailing love be with us, Lord, even as we put our hope in you. (‭Psalm‬ ‭33‬:‭20-22‬ NIV)

© Brenda Kanagy

Note: I do not own the photo in this post.

Leave a Reply

