39 Weeks Baking + Raw Vegan Brownies

  
It’s bittersweet being this close to the end. I wonder if I will miss my belly companion or have an identity crisis adjusting to a new reality and a changing body and new hormones. All normal and good, but different.

Am I ready? I’m anxious (in a good way) to meet the baby I’ve been making the last nine months, but at the same time I don’t feel hurried to rush my entrance into a new season.  I know along with the joys will be challenges that I don’t want to face prematurely.

I don’t want to rush a good thing, you know? So daily, I’m making a conscious effort to be intentional, keeping my mind in a place of rest, not stressing too much about projects, but keeping enough motivation in the picture to keep me occupied until Baby comes.

My husband is more the one to say, “Come out soon, little one.” I am here moving into an introverted, focused last phase with a cautious, “Finish baking and hopefully everything will turn out ok.” ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m doing what I can to give my body what it needs to go into labor when it’s time, but I am not putting myself on a mental timeline or letting others’ or my own excitement pressure me. All pregnancies end eventually, and I am content knowing that God knows the exact time this little one will exit her cozy world to join us.

I can confidently say I am looking forward to sleeping on my back again, along with other things I miss. That was my pre-pregancy sleeping position, but with a heavy belly pushing on arteries, it doesn’t work so well. It was actually pretty crazy listening to baby’s heart rate drop at my last appointment when I was flat on my back. I’ve been told the left side is best for circulation, baby positioning etc, but this little one’s heart rate was the best on my right side. Between braxton hicks contractions and heart palpitations, sleeping on my sides is what I’m stuck with, even if it’s uncomfortable for long periods of time. It’s weird what all parental instinct will make one sacrifice for the care of their child. ๐Ÿ™‚

Did I mention that Baby has a name at last? There’s a pretty cool story behind her name; maybe I’ll share it after she’s born.

There hasn’t been extensive research on this, but my birth class instructor got me inspired to eat dates the last weeks of my pregnancy. Apparently, dates are known to aid the body in labor prep. Who knows, but I like dates, so it can’t hurt. I had been eating them plain, but today I whipped together raw vegan brownies with dates, cacao powder, almonds, and walnuts as the main ingredients.

I didn’t do the ganache because dates are sweet enough for dessert in my opinion. It was fudgy, delicious, healthy goodness just by itself! Let me know if you try the recipe!

I guess now I can say brownies are getting me ready for labor. ๐Ÿ˜€

Happy Monday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

