Postpartum Fuel

It’s easy to swoon over the wonderful aspects of being a mom before it’s reality, but when it becomes reality, there are also a lot of not so great perks to being solely responsible for a sweet little human that have a way of slapping you awake every few days…or hours…or minutes, depending on the desperation of circumstances. 🙂

I have this satire about the (not) glamour of the physical toll of childbirth and postpartum in my head. (I have developed a somewhat disturbing postpartum sense of humor.) Maybe sometime it will spill out onto this keyboard in a moment of intensity.

It is an absolute miracle what great lengths of sacrifice instincts and love can propel a women to overcome in order to care for a baby. A mom literally gives her body for her child, and that is no small thing. Mommies need fuel!

Drum-roll…

These are my favorite food time savers/postpartum snacks to grab with one hand: (because the other one is full of baby)

Protein balls– in this case, nursing balls, but that may sound sort of inappropriate, so we’ll stick with the original. But hey, they are packed with protein- just what a nursing woman needs at 4 a.m. when hunger strikes mid-baby feeding/diaper changing/ rocking to sleep ritual. I store them in the freezer, and grab a quick protein snack often throughout the day or night!

I use/sometimes combine several different recipes I found online, but my basic ingredients are rolled oats, peanut butter, flax seeds (sometimes ground) chia seeds, maple syrup, and chocolate chips which should probably be optional, but it’s a nice treat. Extra props for organic ones. 🙂

Coconut water– pineapple flavored because it’s just gross plain.

I actually got this in place of gator-aide for labor hydration, and ended up drinking it postpartum as well. It’s a lovely little kick of nutrition and electrolytes, but maybe I hang on to it for sentimental value too. It got me through labor! 😉 I often trek to the refrigerator for a sip during the night to wash down the protein balls.

Chia seed pudding

My mom made big batches of this while she was our live-in maid, and I’m still keeping it up. It is extremely nutritious. I am off of dairy for the sake of my baby’s tummy, but it is tolerably yummy with coconut milk too. I sure miss my whole milk though.

[1/4 cup chia seed to 1 cup milk- with maple syrup to taste. Stir and let jell in refrigerator as long as it takes- preferably overnight.]

Cooked Frozen Sausage- Ezekial flat bread burritos

Another one of my mom’s ideas, and we sure have used it! Let’s just say cooking is next to a miracle with a baby who is on nap strike during the day. I’m not complaining; it means she sleeps longer at night, but it is really hard to do even basic chores when she doesn’t stay sleeping long after I lay her down. She loves being held. Anyways, when my meal plans are a no-go, I turn to my sausage for our meal. I scramble some eggs, maybe saute some onions if Baby is feeling generous with time, and throw together a breakfast burrito using Ezekiel flat-bread. Topping options: spinach, sauteed peppers and onions, sausage, eggs, sour cream, (veganaise/non dairy option for me) hot sauce, cheese, guacamole, etc. I go light on the cheese, onions, and hot sauce, but it doesn’t seem to be as big of a problem as milk for Baby.

Frozen Pancakes

My favorite spelt flour pancakes are a lifesaver on the mornings/days I don’t have free hands for very long, which, let’s be real, is pretty much every day. It’s so easy to grab a few from the freezer, top them with blueberries (also from the freezer) and whatever other toppings I want. I sometimes add a-fore mentioned sausage or eggs for protein- or both.

Freezer Meals

My mom put up a few freezer meals for me while she was here, and my generous neighbor made some for me as well. Talk about making life easier!


Kudos to my baby for putting herself to sleep beside me for the first time so I could write this post. I am a master at reinserting pacifiers out of the corner of my eye. 🙂

img_5509

Happy Thursday! (I’m not even sure what day it is, but I think I got it right!)

© Brenda Kanagy

Leave a Reply

