Heaven Birthday

  We visited my old church this past Sunday, and the visiting speaker painted a picture of Heaven in his message. There were also a few songs dedicated to ones who have loved ones in Heaven. Along with Valentine’s Day, it was all pretty significant, considering this time of year. Today, 11 years ago, my Dad lived his last day on earth.

The speaker talked a lot about a perspective shift that really connected with me.

“Heaven is not an alternative to hell; Hell is an alternative to Heaven.”

“Wanting to go to heaven to escape hell is like saying ‘I love Jesus because the devil scares me.'”

The truth is: We love Him because He first loved us.

That kind of love starts here and now, and is beautifully continued (and upgraded when I get to see His face!) after my last earthly breath. 

My Dad’s favorite verse was John 8:32 “And you shall know the truth, and the truth will make you free.”

The longer time goes by or maybe the older I get, the more I see February 16 as not primarily the day I lost something, but the day my dad passed through that veil darkening his eyes. The truth he was so passionate about in his last years are no longer mysterious but fully alive and clear. I want more of that. So I celebrate!

Happy 11th Heaven Birthday, Dad. Save some fun for me! 

Leave a Reply

