First Day of School

I’m featuring a guest post on the blog today! She wrote this the night before her firstborn’s first day of kindergarten, and I sat there feeding my little one and reading the words of her mommy heart with tears in my eyes. 

(Enter movie scene from Horton Hears a Who where nasty, grumpy buzzard gets emotional watching a display of love: Sniffle. “Here comes the water slide!” )

I don’t think I would have “gotten” this before becoming a mom myself. A mother’s love is the most powerful force with the most intense emotions

Enjoy!

By: Dianne Hostetler

Your lunch box is on the counter. Your shoes are by the door. Your backpack is packed and ready to go. You say you’re so excited to go to school and make new friends. 

Tonight,  you gave me a hug and said, “Good night” like you always do, and I wondered if you knew how much your world was about to change. I wonder if you’re ready. I wonder if we’ve taught you enough, prepared you enough. 

This next stage in your life is the next step in independence and growth. You might not even remember it much, but I know that these next years will mold and impact you deeply.

I hope you are strong enough to stand against peer pressure. I hope you will be a leader. I hope you will be kind and obedient. I hope that you will never loose your desire to learn! 

You love to build, design and narrate. You’ve even been teaching yourself to read. I’m so proud of you, little man. You’re like a sponge…absorbing knowledge and learning about the world around you. You are sensitive to emotional things and are very keen to what is going on around you. 

I’m so proud to see you grow up. I hope you know that. Yet it’s hard. I love having you around. I’ll miss you, all those hours that you’re away. They say the hardest part of love is letting go….

My mind jumps ahead to when you’ll be ready to go out into the world on your own for real, and it makes me want to hold you even tighter. 

I have so many dreams for you, but most importantly, I want you to follow YOUR dreams.

I love the fact that you were my first little boy. You have a spot in my heart that no one could ever replace. I love you more than I ever imagined it possible to love a human being.

There are bound to be hard things and growing pains to come your way, but I want you to know that you will get through it. We’re right here with you whenever you need us. You can always talk to us whenever you want, about anything. There is nothing that you can do that would love you less. And more than that, remember that Jesus is right there with you in your heart. No matter what you’re doing or learning, you can ask him for help and talk to Him at anytime. He’s your friend!

You’ll do great, in this next season. You will learn amazing things and develop and grow some more. I hope you have fun! 

Never forget how much I love you. Happy 1st day of school, buddy.  

©Brenda Kanagy

Leave a Reply

