Movie Review: Bridge of Spies

Hey guys! I can’t say I’ve done movie reviews on my blog before, but I guess my recent political posts are making me friskier and riskier than normal, which I’m ok with. I need to break my “stick to the sideline” safety net tendencies. It’s always a bummer for relevance to wait for perfection. (which never comes, but unfortunately the moment usually has come- and gone!) 🙂

So without farther adue:

My husband and I have gotten into movies again after a long hiatus. I think it has something to do with having our own home again. Anyways, last week we rented Bridge of Spies from redbox. I’m usually pretty picky with crime, action, or political dramas, but I was pleasantly surprised with this one. I’m a sucker for historical films, and the production value and acting in this one is awesome. I absolutely enjoyed it from start to finish. 

There was one instance of profanity, but it was much more appropriately placed than the majority of unnecessary, casual profanities scattered throughout most movies these days. I was also impressed with the suspense element that truly captured me. The plot was so good on its own that it didn’t need a bunch of gory violence and shebang to prop it up or hold attention. Plus, it’s based on a true story.  

The timeline is the Cold War and follows an American lawyer’s (James Donovan) role in the representation of a Russian spy (in a anti communist/post World War II era) and ultimately the successful negotiation of captives between the U.S. and the Soviet Union. 

The CIA’s objective was to simply swap the Russian spy for a captured American operative, but Donovan took a huge risk and ALSO pursued negotiating the release of an American student who got trapped on the east side of the Berlin Wall and was being held by the German Democratic Republic at the same time. To be clear, the Soviets and Germans were at odds in a post war era. Talk about a tough negotiation for an American to make!

It was fascinating watching relationships between countries and seeing how crucial every move is in navigating deals in uncertain political climates. Knowing we have some unique country relations going on in the present day as well made it particularly interesting to me. I think we also have excellent leaders like James Donovan among us today! 

I also appreciated how the plot humanized the characters- from the Russian spy to the lawyer and his family, and more. 

If you get a chance and are interested in historical  dramas, check this one out. I highly recommend it.

©Brenda Kanagy

Leave a Reply

