One Year Antics

Baby girl is not walking, but she stands up by herself without assistance or support and often holds a squat. She also figured out how to back down steps since she learned to crawl them what seems like just last week.

Last week I decided that it might be time to back off the supervision and leave the steps open. She’s really good on steps, but I still envision her losing her balance and ending up in the ER. When does a parent decide their child has mastered a skill? No matter how prepared someone is, accidents still happen, and freaking out won’t make it less likely. I also noticed that my hovering sometimes made her more unsafe because her adrenaline rose and my presence broke her focus. What a life lesson.  I decided to give it a try one day, and she did great! I watched out of the corner of my eye some, but mostly just let her roam, much to her pleasure. It’s a mental choice to let go of fear. But I did it, and we’re breezing it like that frustrating blocked steps phase never happened. Secretly, we’re both happier this way. I told myself that there will always be risks, but that can’t hold me back. She spends a lot of time on the steps since, but ironically, freedom rather removed the novelty the blockades provided her, and she still comes back down frequently to be near me. It actually elimated a lot of stress for me, not having to carry her with me or leave her downstairs for a few minutes while I ran upstairs. 

Funny quirks:

For several months she’s had this pointing habit. She’ll point at me or her  dad or someone she likes from across the room and do a head nod/chin lift and say “Ahh” as an acknowledgement. We started this cute game where she touches her pointer finger to mine.(Fun in the dirt !)

I don’t know if it’s part of sensory discovery or what, but she loves to head butt people for fun. Sometimes she playfully head butts objects or furniture, and when she gets mad she bonks her head on the floor, which usually follows with “WHYYY me, Mom?” wails. “Life is unfair.” Or at least that is my interpretation. 🙂She loves to be goofy and scream and giggle with her grandma. When her dad has been gone for work extra much and she is all wired up to the emotional meltdown stage, warm daddy hugs calm her down like even I can’t in those moments. Don’t we all just need our daddy?It tickles me when she wrinkles her nose and puckers her lips into goofy expressions or copycats sounds we make. 

Our favorite book to read together is Usborne’s Animally. We love the flap or finger trail books for traveling, but this one is clever and endearing. It has the educational factor with the adverb use in each line, but also the loving, affectionate  tone, perfect for bedtime or after nap snuggles. The beautiful picture illustrations are wonderful too. I posted a fun video on YouTube of us reading it together last night.

I can’t forget my favorite: Sometimes in a desperate traveling moment I pull out Baby Einstein clips for distraction. She really latched on to the scene where the puppets are learning the punch line of Beethoven’s 5th Symphony. She loved it, and since then sings, “Da Da Da Da” in the actual tune, randomly throughout the day or when encouraged. She immediately picks it out when I play the origional classical piece and gets all awwed and excited at the magestic bass notes. We love our smart, beautiful, funny girl!

@Brenda Kanagy 

Leave a Reply

