Who Is Woman?

The “Oh no,” voice in my head was almost as loud as the pounding of my heart. Those pretty blue lights flashing behind me were not something I wanted to see. After recognizing the last name on my license, the officer asked if I was a son of the Mr. Kanagy he knew. I told him I was. He responded with quick warning and told me have a good night. Although the circumstances were still the same, I didn’t get a ticket because the officer knew my dad. You can imagine how happy I was to be a son!

Everything we do flows from who we think we are. “As a man thinketh in his heart, so is he.” (Proverbs 23:7) If we have the minds of paupers, we won’t live as sons and daughters. Whether a man or a woman, we will act on what we believe our identity is. Identity is what our lives are built on. So who are we? Who are we meant to be?

If we are made in God’s image- designed to reproduce the fruit of relationship, that means the only way to become our true selves is to know where or Who we came from. Jesus was God, but many people didn’t recognize Him because they didn’t know the Father. I believe the greatest revelation Jesus brought to the earth was who the Father is.


When I think of the identity of women specifically, I’m taken back to the Garden of Eden where it all started. Lucifer was originally the most beautiful angel of God’s creation, but he was thrown out of Heaven when he lifted himself up in pride and wanted to be greater than God. I imagine Lucifer witnessed God fashioning His most prized creation after Himself, complete with the living breath of God.

When man was lonely, God split His human image into two beings. The second, woman, was the beautiful likeness of God. She carried the intuitive nature, the motherhood, the fertility, and gentle grace of the Godhead. It’s likely that Eve’s design felt like a slap in the face of the fallen angel.


Eve’s deception is often spoken of in light of weakness, but maybe we’re missing the point. Is it possible Satan tried to deceive the one he was most jealous of? Would Satan sabotage something of little value? The fact that there is specific enmity between woman and Satan says something about her design. What did Eve have in the garden that Satan wanted to steal?

Satan’s method of deception involved persuading Eve from her identity- convincing her that she needed to make an action to become like God. Eve was already God’s likeness; her mistake was being drawn from the ultimate reality she possessed to a lousy counterfeit. Obviously, Eve suffered the consequences of her agreements with Satan. It was a painful road for humanity until the cross, where the provisions to restore identity were made.

Lucifer was cursed for his evil intentions against the first couple. Now the enemy crawls on his belly, squandering his bail on further lying pursuits against humanity before his ultimate eternal sentencing. His goal is to muddle our identities, keeping us slaves of counterfeit reality.

On this side of the resurrection, Satan only preys as long as our agreement permits. If the curse of sin and death is truly broken, when we die with Christ, we also rise with Him. Woman’s journey from a weakened mind to an unveiled mind, restored to the likeness of Christ, begins with a choice.


Identity is like a passport. A passport includes who you are and everywhere you have been. When you get a new passport, old passports are void.

When we enter the kingdom, we get a brand new passport. We shed old facades as we are immersed in Jesus’ identity. There’s always history behind an identity. In the spiritual, when we are seated in heavenly places with Christ and God, His history becomes our history. There’s no double identity going on. Our passports are inked in His righteousness, His authority, and His unfailing love. Our travel stamps are eternal marks of Christ’s sacrifice and His purpose for our lives.

When Satan approaches woman, she doesn’t even have to say anything; the Enemy only has to see woman’s passport to know Whose she is. We probably don’t realize how often Satan comes into God’s presence only to hear God boast about His kids’ righteousness passport stamp.

Identity is not about performance. I don’t have to work to be an American. I took on that identity when I was born, but now that I am American, I do American things. I don’t try to create history in order to find my identity. History flows behind me because I already have an identity. People who don’t go anywhere in life or experience little to no freedom simply aren’t living out of their true identity.


Personally, one of the best ways to know where I’m going is to know who I am. I’ll have a really hard time fulfilling the greatest commandment to love God and love my neighbor as myself unless I see and love myself the way God does. To the natural mind, self love might seem selfish, but I can’t expect to be effective in speaking to other people’s identities if my own identity is not saturated in the mind of Christ towards me. John 8:32 says I will be set free by knowing the truth. Knowledge with wisdom requires a response. The more I know who I am, the more freedom I have to walk in the vision God sets before me.

Identity precedes destiny. “But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name…” (John 1:12 KJV) First came the receiving, followed by the power to become little replicas of God’s image once again. “They are reborn—not with a physical birth resulting from human passion or plan, but a birth that comes from God.” (John 1:13 NLT)

After woman receives her passport, (identity) she can start traveling. She is now equipped to start creating personal history with God- her destiny. Ezekiel’s experience with the the Lord in the valley of dry bones is a good example of that process.

God asked Ezekiel, “Can these bones live again?”

Like a trusting son, Ezekiel answered, “Only You know the answer to that.”

Then God gave Ezekiel strange instructions. “Speak a prophetic message to these bones and say, ‘Dry bones, listen to the word of the Lord!’” One definition of the word prophetic is prognostic, meaning “an advance indication of a future event.”

Ezekiel proceeded to speak to the dead bones the exact words of life and intent that God had given him. The New Living Translation says, “There was a rattling noise,” as the bones came together to complete skeletons and were covered in flesh and skin. These human bones were already made in God’s image, but with a prophetic word, they were restored to their original fashion.

It didn’t stop there; God directed Ezekiel to speak one last prophetic word. “Come, O breath, from the four winds! Breathe into these dead bodies so they may live again.” I doubt it’s a coincidence that God’s Spirit is often referred to as wind in scripture.

Woman’s bones may have dried in the death following sin, but the cross and resurrection reinstated her destiny. The coming together of bones signifies the renewing of minds and the building up of godly strongholds that agree only with the thoughts of God.

Even after the skeleton is re-formed and flesh is restored to previously dried bones, it is only the breath of the Spirit of God that can bring woman to life. The wind of God inhabits woman again; it is her royal passport stamp that activates her to walk in fullness, trampling Satan under her feet as the glory of the Lord rises from beautiful woman as an incense to her God.


There’s no stereotype for this fulfilled woman. Whether old, young, single, or married, the same Spirit lives in each diverse woman, creating a multi-colored picture of God’s glory. Whether she is a physical mother or not, I feel like it is the destiny of every woman to nurture and incubate the life and things of God to maturity on the earth. This poem, read by Kathy Vallotton in Kris Vallotton’s 2013 Mother’s Day message, is a powerful picture of that destiny.

I Am a Woman

by Christiana Moss

My willingness to carry life is a revenge –

the antidote,

the great rebuttal of every murder,

every abortion,

and every genocide.
I sustain humanity –

deep inside of me life grows;

I am death’s opposition.

I have pushed back the hand of darkness today

I have caused there to be a weakening tremor among the ranks

of those set on earths destruction.

Today,

a vibration that calls angels to attention

echoed throughout time;

our laughter threatened hell today.

I dine with the greats of God’s army –

I make their meals,

I tie their shoes.

Today,

I walk with greatness,

and when they were tired,

I carried them.

I’ve poured myself out for the cause today.

It’s finally quiet,

but life stirs inside of me –

gaining strength.

The pulse of life

sends a constant reminder to both good and evil

that I’ve yielded myself to Heaven

and now carry its dream.

No angel

has ever had such a privilege,

nor any man.

I’m humbled by the honor;

I am great with destiny –

I birth the freedom fighters.

In the great war,

I am the leader of the underground resistance.

I smile at the disguise of my troops,

surrounded by a host of warriors.

Destiny swirling – invisible yet tangible

and the anointing to alter history.

Our footsteps make our land for conquest;

we move undetected throughout the common places.

Today,

I was the barrier between evil and innocence.

I was a gatekeeper,

watching over the hope of mankind,

and no intruder trespassed.

There’s not an hour in the day or night

when I turn from my post.

The fierceness of my love is unmatched on the earth,

and because I smile instead of frown,

the world will know the power of grace.

Hope has feet;

it will run to the corners of the earth

because I stood up against destruction.

I am a woman

I am a mother.

I’m the keeper and sustainer of life

here on earth.

Heaven stands in honor of my mission.

No one else can carry my call.

I’m the daughter of Eve,

and Eve has been redeemed.

I am the opposition of death;

I am a woman.

*article originally published in Daughter’s of Promise magazine

© Caleb Kanagy, along with Brenda Kanagy

One thought on “Who Is Woman?

Leave a Reply

